GAA Club Rankings

Castlebar Mitchels GFC crest
Castlebar Mitchels GFC

Barry Moran (top) Neil Douglas (middle) and celebrating another win

Castlebar Mitchels Club was formed on the 11th December, 1885.

It is almost certain that Mitchels took their name from John Mitchel the Young Ireland leader who was banished to Tasmania in 1848 after being found guilty of treason.

The first committee members came from diverse social backgrounds such as prison wardens, British Army, doctors and shop boys who all had the one wish to play Gaelic Football

After the formation of Castlebar Mitchels the club colours were green and yellow.

The glory decade for the Mitchels was the 1950's when they won seven senior county titles.

When Mayo made the historic breakthrough in 1936 to win their first All-Ireland Senior Championship they were backboned by Mitchels players Tom Burke, Paddy Quinn, Patsy Flannelly, Jim 'Tot' McGowan, Paddy Moclair, Henry Kenny and Josie Munnelly

Josie Munnelly holds the unique distinction (and unlikely ever to be equalled) of having won 12 county senior football medals

Josie Munnelly captained Mitchels to six county senior titles in the 1940's and 1950's

Two club players, Mick Flynn and Josie Munnelly, hold the rare distinction of having won five-in-a-row county senior championship medals between 1950 and 1954

Four Mitchels players, Tommy Byrne, Eamon Mongey, Mick Flanagan and Peter Solan (Peter a native of Islandeady), played pivotal roles as Mayo won back to back All-Ireland senior football titles in 1950 and 1951.

In recent times the club have been runner up in three club All Ireland Finals 1994, 2014 and 2016. However they have shown great resilience and bravery in carrying on the fight and they will aim to take the final step someday soon.

Well Known Players -
Tom Cunniffe
Richie Feeney
Patsy Flannelly
Henry Kenny
Barry Moran
Patrick Durcan

Senior County Titles (31)
1888, 1903, 1930, 1931, 1932, 1934, 1941, 1942, 1944, 1945, 1946, 1948, 1950, 1951, 1952, 1953, 1954, 1956, 1959, 1962, 1963, 1969, 1970, 1978, 1986, 1988, 1993, 2013, 2015, 2016, 2017

This site uses cookies to improve the service. If you wish to disable them, click here.