GAA Club Rankings

Ballyboden St Endas GFC crest
Ballyboden St Endas GFC

'Boden celebrate the club All Ireland and (above) Michael Darragh MacAuley

Ballyboden St. Enda's (CLG Baile Buadain Naomh Eanna in Irish) is a Gaelic Athletic Association club in Knocklyon, Dublin. The Club serves the Rathfarnham, Knocklyon, Ballycullen, Ballyboden, Ballyroan, Firhouse areas. They offer hurling, camogie, Gaelic football, handball, and rounders. They were founded in 1969 after the merger of 2 clubs in the Rathfarnham area - the Ballyboden Wanderers (founded 1910) and Rathfarnham St. Endas (founded 1966).

Their homeground, Pairc UI Mhurchu is located on the Firhouse Road. It was named Pairc Ui Mhurchu in 1984, after founding member and first chairman of Ballyboden St. Enda's, Ned Murphy (Eamonn Ui Murchu) (1908-1981)

Ballyboden won their first Dublin Senior Football Championship in 1995, defeating Erin's Isle by a single point - 1.07 to 0.09. The club gained their second Dublin Senior Football Championship in 2009, beating local rivals St Jude's by a scoreline of 2.12 to 1.13. A third county title was claimed in 2015 when St. Vincents were beaten on a scoreline of 2.08 to 0.10. 'Boden were also beaten county finalists in 2004, losing to Kilmacud Crokes (1-11 to 2-02).

On 6 December 2015, 'Boden claimed their first Leinster Senior Club Football Championship title, defeating Portlaoise on a scoreline of 2.09 to 1.11, with substitute Aran Waters kicking a dramatic late winning point.

Following victory over Clonmel Commercials in the All Ireland semi-final on a scoreline of 0-15 to 0-10 (following extra time), 'Boden went on to contest their first All Ireland Football final on St. Patrick's day in Croke Park. Following a blistering start that saw them score two goals in the first fifteen minutes, 'Boden won a famous victory, beating favourites Castlebar Mitchels convincingly on a scoreline of 2-14 to 0-07.

Some of the notable players from the club includes - Colm Basquel, Paul Bealin, Seán Doherty, Darren Homan, Conal Keaney, Michael Darragh MacAuley, Ciarán Maher, Eric Miller, Colin Moran, Robbie McDaid, Brian Stynes and David Stynes

Senior County Titles (4)
1995, 2009, 2015, 2019

Ballyboden St Endas GFC - Archived Articles

This site uses cookies to improve the service. If you wish to disable them, click here.