GAA Club Rankings

Ballyroan Abbey GFC crest
Ballyroan Abbey GFC

Leinster Club Intermediate Champions 2008

The original Ballyroan GAA club was founded in 1887. The club colours were originally royal blue with a dominant white V on the front, later being changed to sky blue and navy.
The Ballyroan GAA club won eight Laois Senior Football Championship titles in its own right, the most recent of which was in 1992.
In 2006, a number of Ballyroan players were part of the Ballyroan Gaels squad that won the Laois Senior Football Championship. Ballyroan Gaels was a temporary amalgamation of the two neighbouring clubs, Abbeyleix and Ballyroan. This amalgamation was made permanent in 2007, when they became known as Ballyroan Abbey GAA. This was also a year of great surprise, when they lost to The Heath in a relegation play-off game meaning they would take part at intermediate rather than senior level in 2008.
However, 2008 saw the club make a swift return to senior ranks with a 1-12 to 0-10 win over Park/Ratheniska in the final of the Laois Intermediate Football Championship . By December of the same year, the Leinster Intermediate Club Football Championship had been added, with a win over Meath champions St Ultans in the final. The 2009 season again was a mixed one which involved skirting relegation with the lowest point being a loss to Crettyard in Laois Senior Football Championship before holding on to beat The Rock in that year's relegation playoff.
2010 saw the club decimated by injuries and transfers and they were relegated from senior ranks after four successive championship defeats.
In 2014, the club again returned to senior football having won the 2013 Laois Intermediate Football Championship.

This site uses cookies to improve the service. If you wish to disable them, click here.