GAA Club Rankings

Russell Gaelic Union Downpatrick GFC crest
Russell Gaelic Union Downpatrick GFC

The club grounds

Downpatrick is home to RGU Dún Phádraig GAC. The Russell Gaelic Union was formed by an Englishman, a Scotsman, and an Irishman: Willie King, Alex McDowell, and Willie Byrne, respectively, in the county town in the early 20th century. The team traditionally wears green and white hoops.

Downpatrick has had mixed fortunes over the years but has still managed to produce excellent county footballers such as Ray McConville, Conor Deegan and Barry Breen, all of whom won All-Irelands with Down. The club was named in honor of United Irishman, Thomas Russell.

This site uses cookies to improve the service. If you wish to disable them, click here.