GAA Club Rankings

Erins Own Lavey GFC crest
Erins Own Lavey GFC

Gaelic Athletic Association club based in the Catholic parish of Lavey, County Londonderry, Northern Ireland. The club is a member of the Derry GAA and currently cater for Gaelic football, hurling, camogie and Ladies' Gaelic football.

The club's biggest success came when it won the 1991 All-Ireland Senior Club Football Championship. It has won the Ulster Senior Club Football Championship twice and won the Derry Senior Football Championship on eight occasions. The club has won the Derry Senior Hurling Championship 19 times. Lavey won Club of the Year at the 1990 Ulster GAA Writers' Association Awards.

Underage teams up to U-12s play in Doire theas league and championships, and teams from U-14 upwards compete in All-Derry competitions.

Some of the clubs better known players include -
Henry Downey - Captain of Derry's 1993 All-Ireland winning team. All Star winner and Texaco Footballer of the Year for 1993.
Séamus Downey - Member of Derry's 1993 All-Ireland winning team.
Johnny McGurk - All Star winner and member of Derry's 1993 All-Ireland winning team.
Anthony McGurk - Two-time All Star winner.
Kevin McCloy - All Star winner and current Derry footballer.

Senior County Titles (8)
1938, 1943, 1954, 1977, 1988, 1990, 1992, 1993

This site uses cookies to improve the service. If you wish to disable them, click here.