Glenullin GFC crest
Glenullin GFC

Eoin Bradley - pic -

In May 1925 Johnny Mullan (Seán Ó Maoláin), the local school teacher, called a meeting with the aim of establishing a new Gaelic football club in Glenullin. The club decided to name itself after Irish rebel John Mitchel and wore green and white hooped jerseys. The first ever match took place that summer against a team from Randalstown, County Antrim.

Glenullin switched to North Derry competitions in 1938. They won back-to-back Dr. Kerlin Cups in 1938 and 1939. Glenullin won the 1939 South Derry? League final. 1940 proved a very successful year for Mitchel's; they won the Dr. Kerlin Cup, the Neal Carlin Cup and the North Derry Championship. They won their third North Derry Championship in 1944. They won the Neal Carlin Cup again in 1947.

Glenullin bought their current pitch in 1973. In 1977 Glenullin defeated Desertmartin to become Derry Intermediate Football Champions. 1985 proved a glory year for Glenullin. They won their first Derry Senior Championship in 58 years by defeating Ballinderry in the final at Dean McGlinchey Park, Ballinascreen. In 2007 they defeated another South Derry "giant", Bellaghy in a replay, this giving them their first Derry Championship success in 22 years. They were managed that year by Liam Bradley, and joint captain with Brian Mullan was his son Paddy. They went on to the provincial semi-final against St Galls, but lost in an out-of-sorts performance from their key players.

Well known players -
Dermot McNicholl, Gerard O'Kane, Liam Bradley, Gabriel Bradley, Paddy Bradley , Eoin Bradley, John Eddie Mullan, Brian Mullan.

Senior County Titles (3)
1928, 1985, 2007

This site uses cookies to improve the service. If you wish to disable them, click here.