GAA Club Rankings

Granagh Ballingarry HC crest
Granagh Ballingarry HC

Bobby Houlihan - pic -

Granagh-Ballingarry GAA was formed in 1990 after the merger between Granagh and Ballingarry GAA clubs. Previously, the clubs had been playing together in some competitions. Hurling is the more popular game in the parish.

Granagh-Ballingarry currently enjoy senior hurling status, after defeating Glenroe GAA 4-10 to 3-10 in the 2005 Limerick Intermediate Hurling Championship. Granagh-Ballingarry reached the 2006 Limerick Senior Hurling quarter finals, and also in 2007, where they were defeated by Kilmallock. The club were defeated by Garryspillane at the quarter final stage in 2008 and were defeated by Croom in a round 3 game in 2009. 2010 placed them up against Kilmallock again and the team lost out badly at the quarter final stage again. The club won their first senior championship in 1911 under the guise of Ballingarry, after having won the intermediate championship the year before. The club were also finalists in 1896, 1904 and 1912 as Ballingarry, and in 1945 under the current name, Granagh-Ballingarry. In the 1990s the club won several Limerick GAA West Division championships, before winning the Limerick Junior Hurling Championship in 1998. The Club also won a West Senior Hurling Championship in 2008 defeating Adare.

The clubs most high profile player of recent times is Donal O'Grady. Donal played for Limerick in the 2007 All-Ireland Senior Hurling Championship and was an All Star nominee.

This site uses cookies to improve the service. If you wish to disable them, click here.