GAA Club Rankings

Kiltale HC crest
Kiltale HC

The history of Kiltale Hurling Club dates back to the early 1920s. The club disbanded in 1934 but was reformed in 1946. Kiltale won their first Junior Hurling Championship in 1954. The club reached the Senior Hurling Championship final twice in the late 50's without success.

There was no club in the 1960s but in the 1970s, the late Tommy Kane got it back on its feet and the club came back to win the Junior Hurling Championship in 1971, the Intermediate Hurling Championship in 1972, an under-14 Championship in 1975, and a second Intermediate title in 1978. In these early days of the modern club Kiltale proved to be one of the most successful teams in Meath hurling, a credit to all that were behind the club in the early years to keep hurling alive in the parish.

The 1980s was at the time the most successful decade in the club's history, with the senior side winning the Meath Senior Hurling Championship in 1982 and 1983 and the O'Growney Cup in 1985 and 1987. In 1992 they won the Junior Hurling Championship and in 1999 they had success with the minors.

In 2003 Kiltale won a Junior C Hurling Championship and an U21 Championship. In 2005 and again in 2006 Kiltale won back to back Minor A Championships.

In recent years the senior side has seen a renaissance, with the senior team taking championship honours in 2007, 2012, 2014 and 2015. In 2014 the side narrowly lost to Kilkenny side Mullinavat in a thrilling final in Pairc Tailteann, Navan.

Senior County Titles (9)
1982, 1983, 2007, 2012, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018

This site uses cookies to improve the service. If you wish to disable them, click here.