GAA Club Rankings

Newtownshandrum HC crest
Newtownshandrum HC

Pat Mulcahy. pic -

Newtownshandrum GAA is a Gaelic Athletic Association club located in the small village of Newtownshandrum in County Cork. The club, situated in half a parish of about 800 people, was founded in 1896 and is almost exclusively concerned with the game of hurling.

In senior hurling Newtownshandrum compete annually in the Cork Senior Club Hurling Championship, which they have won four times as of 2009. The club, one of the few senior teams from the Avondhu division in the northern part of the county, also competes in various other championships in all grades within Cork.

The four Cork senior hurling titles made Newtownshandrum the Cork club of the decade. Added to these county titles were three Munster titles - 2003, 2006, 2009 as well as the All Ireland club title in 2004.

This talented crop of players was backboned by the O'Connor brothers of Ben and Jerry and Pat Mulcahy. Jerry won two All Irelands, three All Stars and was hurler of the year in 2005. Ben won three All Irelands and two All Stars. Pat won two All Irelands and one All Star.

Club website -

Senior County Titles (4)
2000, 2003, 2005, 2009

This site uses cookies to improve the service. If you wish to disable them, click here.