GAA Club Rankings

Oranmore Maree HC crest
Oranmore Maree HC

The Oranmore Maree GAA Club was founded in 1967. The club was formed through a county by-law which ruled that there should be only one team per parish, previous to this Maree and Oranmore had teams. Maree wore green and black jerseys while Oranmore wore Black and Amber.

Maree won the Galway Senior Hurling Championship in 1933 beating Castlegar 5-06 to 6-02. Oranmore won the Galway Intermediate Hurling Championship in 1950 beating Killimor 3-5 to 3-1 after a replay, Maree continued their clubs fine tradition by winning the Intermediate title in 1953 beating the highly fancied Craughwell 6-1 to 4-1.

The GAA club has provided many hurlers to the Galway Senior Hurling Team, these include Pat Malone, who won All-Ireland medals in 1987 and 1988, Richard Burke, William Burke, Aidan Divney, Michael Hanniffy, Gearoid McInerney and Niall Burke.

Club website -

This site uses cookies to improve the service. If you wish to disable them, click here.