Rathmore GFC crest
Rathmore GFC

Rathmore vs Milltown/Castlemaine

Together with 12 other football clubs (Cordal, Dr. Crokes, Currow, Firies, Fossa, Glenflesk, Gneeveguilla, Kilcummin, Legion, Listry, Scartaglin and Spa) Rathmore form the East Kerry Division of the GAA county of Kerry.

They play in the Kerry Senior Football Championship. Rathmore GAA was founded in 1888. Their original colours were green but they now play in red. Their former residence was known as the "lawn". The East Kerry board runs its own competitions for clubs within the division. The most important is the O'Donoghue Cup which is awarded to the winners of the East Kerry Senior Football Championship. In 1963 they became the first rural club to win the championship.

The club once played in the Kerry Senior Hurling Championship, making it to the final in 1932 but lost out to Causeway in the final. Now hurling is only played at under-age level.

Notable players from the club include -
Din Joe Crowley, Declan O'Keeffe, Tom O'Sullivan, Aidan O'Mahony and Paul Murphy. Crowley won two senior All Ireland titles with Kerry in the 70's. O'Keefe won two senior All Irelands and was twice and All Star. O'Sullivan won five senior All Irelands and two All Stars. O'Mahony also has five senior All Irelands and two All Stars. Murphy is the most recent Rathmore man to establish himself on the Kerry team, with two All Irelands and an All-Star award.

Rathmore GFC - Archived Articles

This site uses cookies to improve the service. If you wish to disable them, click here.