GAA Club Rankings

Rathnure HC crest
Rathnure HC

Rathnure St. Anne's GAA Club was founded in 1931. Club colours are black and amber. Home games are played at Nicky Rackard Park.

1941 was Rathnure's first year in senior hurling ranks and it is notable that the club has fielded in the Wexford Senior Hurling Championship every other year to date, a feat not equalled by any other club in the county and very few in Ireland.

In 1948 Rathnure St. Anne's won their first of 20 Wexford Senior Hurling Championships. There were celebrations lasting for a full week after that County Final. The club went on to win a further 19 Wexford senior hurling titles which puts them top of the Wexford role of honour and six Leinster Club titles (1971, 1973, 1977, 1986, 1987, 1998). Only Birr and Ballyhale Shamrocks have won more Leinster titles.

Rathnure has also produced many hurling legends - Nicky, Billy & Bobby Rackard, Dan, John, Martin and Pat Quigley, Barrons, O' Connors, Codds, Redmonds, Morrisseys, John Conran, Jimmy Holohan and Fr. McDonald to mention just a few.

Nicky Rackard Park currently provide two full sized playing pitches and an underage pitch at Nicky Rackard Park catering for all ages of girls and boys. This sports complex consists of 4 full sized dressing rooms, squash court, fully equipped gymnasium, sauna and a well stocked GAA shop. The clubhouse also contains a very historic trophy and meeting room dedicated to the great Syl Barron.

Club website -

Senior County Titles (20)
1948, 1950, 1955, 1961, 1967, 1971, 1972, 1973, 1974, 1977, 1979, 1980, 1986, 1987, 1990, 1996, 1998, 2002, 2003, 2006

This site uses cookies to improve the service. If you wish to disable them, click here.