GAA Club Rankings

Ratoath GFC crest
Ratoath GFC

The football section of Ratoath was founded in 1956 and they took part in the Meath Junior Football Championship. A J.F.C. wasn't attained until 1970 however, when they beat Navan O'Mahonys second string in the final. J.F.C. finals were reached 1992 and 2003, losing to Gaeil Colmcille's second string and Wolfe Tones respectively (Wolfe Tones went on to win the All-Ireland Junior Title. 2004 was a monumental year for the club. A J.F.C. title was claimed when beating Dunsany in the final, and Ratoath also went on to claim provincial honours. The Leinster Junior Club Football Championship was won with a final victory over Kilclonfert of Offaly, however in the All-Ireland semi-final, they bowed out to Stewartstown Harps of Tyrone. Their time in the Intermediate ranks were short lived though and the club soon dropped down to Junior once more. Moynalvey defeated them in the J.F.C. final of 2008 but Ratoath made amends for this in 2012, when a youthful squad defeated local rivals Donaghmore/Ashbourne's second string 1-11 to 1-10.

Following this after just three years in the Intermediate ranks, Ratoath claimed their first Meath Intermediate Football Championship title when beating Nobber 1-15 to 0-5 with no fewer than five clubmen representing the Meath county seniors, and hence moving up to the Meath Senior Football Championship for the first time in the club's history. Ratoath went on to win beat St. Patrick's Donabate (Dublin), Railyard (Kilkenny), Castledermot (Kildare) and Athlone (Westmeath) to win the 2015 Leinster Intermediate Club Football Championship and bring the Sean Eiffe trophy back to Sean Eiffe Park. Ratoath were defeated by St. Mary's Cahirciveen in the All-Ireland Intermediate Club Football Championship who went on to win the final.

After being beaten at the quarter final stage in the Senior Football Championship in 2017 and 2018, Ratoath, managed by Davy Byrne, went on to win their first ever senior football title in 2019 by beating Summerhill 3-15 to 2-13 in the final. Ratoath forward Joey Wallace was awarded the man of the match. Ratoath retained their senior football title in 2020 by beating Gaeil Colmcille in the final 1-14 to 1-13. Joey Wallace scored the winning goal in 9th minute of injury time and was awarded man of the match for the second year in a row.

Senior County Titles (2)
2019, 2020

This site uses cookies to improve the service. If you wish to disable them, click here.