GAA Club Rankings

Sean MacCumhaills GFC crest
Sean MacCumhaills GFC

Brian Lafferty of MacCumhaills is challenged by Cloughaneely’s Conor McGee -

Gaelic football in the Twin Towns can be traced back to 1916. A group of men decided to set up a GAA club and Ballybofey Eire OgÂ’s was formed. There was always a keen and friendly rivalry between players of the Twin Towns and it was hardly surprising that a second club, Stranorlar Sarsfields was formed soon after. Both teams competed in the Finn Valley League, a competition organised by the late Dennis Gallagher.

The two clubs continued their hectic rivalry for the next decade, until experience and pragmatism told, and it was decided to amalgamate the clubs. In Oct 1926 at a joint meeting of the two clubs, a new club was formed called Erin’s Hope. The “Hopes” had no permanent home ground until a pitch was located at Drumboe. Plans were still afoot to purchase a more locally situated pitch in Ballybofey.

In 1946, as part of “Civic Week”, a match was held between Donegal and Sligo. This was such a success that a Park committee was formed and our present grounds were finally secured.

On Sunday 1st May 1949, Sean Mac Cumhaill passed away in Donegal Hospital. Soon after it was decided to name the new Park as Sean mac Cumhaill Park, in memory of the man who had done so much for the GAA in the Twin Towns. Sunday Aprill 22nd saw Mac Cumhaill Park officially opened by the President of the GAA. A plague was unveiled and ErinÂ’s Hope changed their name to Mac Cumhaills.

Senior County Titles (6)
1959, 1962, 1963, 1964, 1971, 1977

This site uses cookies to improve the service. If you wish to disable them, click here.