GAA Club Rankings

St Rynaghs HC crest
St Rynaghs HC

St. Rynagh's is a GAA club that encompasses the towns of Cloghan and Banagher in County Offaly. Formed in 1961, the club gained almost immediate success - winning the senior championship in 1965. St. Rynagh's went on to appear in three All-Ireland club finals during the next 30 years.

St. Rynagh's has also supplied three of Offaly's four All-Ireland winning captains, namely Padraig Horan, Martin Hanamy and Hubert Rigney. Other noted players in the club's history include RTE pundit Michael Duignan, Pad Joe Whelahan, Aidan Fogarty and Declan Fogarty, Tom and Micheal Conneely, and first ever all-star goalkeeper Damien Martin. All the previously mentioned players plus Seanie White, John Ryan, Paudie Mulhare, Eunan Martin and Michael Rigney are holders of All Ireland Senior Hurling Medals.

The club enters teams for all major codes, and has had and continues to have many players on the county teams - though in recent years St. Rynaghs have been more noted for supplying players to the football inter-county side.

The St. Rynagh's Senior Football side are based in Cloghan and wear green and white hooped jerseys. The St. Rynagh's Senior Hurling side are based out in Banagher and wear blue and gold jerseys.

Leinster Senior Hurling winners - 1970, 1972, 1982, 1993

Club website -

Senior County Titles (20)
1965, 1966, 1968, 1969, 1970, 1972, 1973, 1974, 1975, 1976, 1981, 1982, 1987, 1990, 1992, 1993, 2016, 2019, 2020, 2021

This site uses cookies to improve the service. If you wish to disable them, click here.