GAA Club Rankings

Western Gaels GFC crest
Western Gaels GFC

Western Gaels vs St Brigids

GAA club founded in 1962, club colours are navy and light blue. The club crest represents four historical landmarks in the four different area of the club;
Mount Druid House – Ballinagare
Cloonshanville Abbey – Frenchpark
Douglas Hyde (First President of Ireland)
Tibohine – Hill of Fairymount, Fairymount (Mullach Na Si) Founded in 1962. The club area consists of the parishes of Frenchpark and Fairymount in West Roscommon, close to the towns of Castlerea and Ballaghaderreen.

Probably the most famous son of the area is Dr. Douglas Hyde of Tibohone, who was Patron of the GAA from 1902 to 1915, and the first President of Ireland from 1938 to 1945.

The club reached the Roscommon senior finals of 2009 and 2013.

Club website -

This site uses cookies to improve the service. If you wish to disable them, click here.